A Confession for the Ages

As far as we can tell, the only Commandment Simeon loosely broke was the 5th, but even the best attorney couldn’t get that to hold up in court. And as much as we were a bit surprised by the content of his confession, we couldn’t find one single sin that he committed.

I know how this confession is going to be perceived, so I have to preface it by stating that I would never let this situation happen again now that I’m older and a bit wiser. The background of the story is that my parents divorced when I was in my early teens. I moved away with my mom and visited my dad in the summers. My dad had become a free-spirited bachelor and dated a variety of women. He never got too serious with any of his girlfriends. All through my teens and early twenties my dad and I would spend our summers together. This particular summer I was turning 23 and he had a new girlfriend, she was much younger than him and only a few years older than me. He didn’t seem too serious about this one either. We had all been drinking and apparently she asked my dad if she could “give me a birthday present.” I guess he gave her the OK and later that evening when I was sitting on the porch alone, she proceeded to, in the words of Bill Clinton, “not have sex with me.” That was it, she never approached me for anything more and actually, we carried on for the rest of my visit as though nothing happened. Looking back, that was one of the strangest things I’ve ever engaged in. What’s worse is that here we are almost 20 years later and they are still together. Not quite the way I expected it to go.

It’s your turn. Step into The Confessional and tell us your sins.

, , ,