Yet Another One That’s Too Good To Be True

Today’s Single Story comes to us from Tara. Tara, too, is a former single, but has a story that had her almost breaking the 7th and 10th Commandments, but then again, that depends on your point-of-view. On the upside, she didn’t commit any of the 7 Deadly Single Sins, actually, she did an excellent job of being lustful yet humble, and although some may call her greedy, who are we to judge?

I wasn’t quite 21 when all of my friends were, which, on this night, after a few failed attempts of slipping me their ID’s, left me to be the designated driver. We had been to an all ages “hat party,” so my hair was pulled neatly back and tucked through the back of a baseball cap. I looked “cute” at best in my cap and casual clothes, no where near sexy. Anyway, everyone wanted to head over to the bar across the street, and since their attempts to slip me in the door failed miserably, I ended up chatting with the bouncer – the overly hot bouncer with the dark hair, light eyes and insanely fit, olive toned, body. I’ll admit, I ogled him a bit – actually I ogled him a lot – but so did every other woman who approached the door that night. We flirted and discovered that we actually had a lot in common and he asked me if I would be interested in joining him for a picnic of wine and cheese? It seems he actually bought the “I forgot my ID” story. I was completely romanced by his request and tried desperately to imagine how his kiss would feel on my lips and how his hands would feel on my waist as he pulled me to him. When my friends emerged, he and I exchanged numbers. On our way home, my girlfriends shrieked at my success and went through countless scenarios of how that picnic would play out. The next day, he called me. We made small talk and that’s when he hit me with, “Well, let me ask you a question.” “OK,” I was anticipating anything but what he said next. “Would you still be interested in me if I told you I had a girlfriend?” I knew this guy was too good to be true! “No, I couldn’t do that to her.” “Well, what if I told you she was bi-sexual and was OK with me seeing other women?” I didn’t want to seem out-of-touch with modern sexuality, but I also didn’t want to get myself into a sticky situation. “If we were going to see each other, I would want it to be just you and me. I just wouldn’t feel right about doing that, even if she said it was OK.” “Well, what if I said she was interested in having a three-way with you?” Thinking quick on my feet I said, “I would be flattered, but I’ve never given that much thought, which leads me to believe that I’m really not interested.” His tone became irritated, so we said goodbye and that was that.

Do you have a Single Story you want to share? Head into The Confessional and send it to us.

And don’t miss out on the Planet Beanbag™ newsletter. Click here to sign up!

, , ,